Baby Showers!

I have made a few baby shower cakes over the last 2 years and they’ve all been different which I love! What’s even more lovely it one was for a boy, one for a girl, and another for a surprise πŸ™‚

Let’s start with the cake for a baby boy…this was a fun cake for me, I was left to choose my own design. Thankfully in my cake class (remember me mentioning Carmel’s Cake Classes Cardiff) we had been looking at baby shower cakes, perfect timing hey! We’d made bibs and dresses so I made some bibs to put on top of the cake and I was chuffed with how they turned out. I also made some little booties, I still can’t believe how cute they are. It was also a gluten free cake so I enjoyed experimenting with those and seeing how well they baked. All in all I was happy with the overall appearance of this cake.

IMG_3544IMG_3529

Now the cake for the baby girl…I was given a guide on how to design this which was really helpful as I actually loved the bunting in the end. You can imagine the panic in trying to make an elephant but don’t you think it’s cute?! My friend was happy with the cake and it fitted in really well to the baby shower theme so that’s a success!

IMG_3525

IMG_3524

The final baby shower cake is the baby surprise so we had a children’s book theme…for those of you who may not recognised the stories they are ‘The Very Hungry Caterpillar’ on the top tier and ‘Dear Zoo’ on the bottom tier. By the end of making this cake I think I was in love with my little caterpillar! He turned out so much better than I could have hoped sitting on his pile of leaves! The doors represent the different animals that are delivered throughout the story of ‘Dear Zoo’. I really enjoyed taking 2 well known, well loved children’s books and making them appear in cake form.

IMG_2566

So there are no more baby shower cakes lined up yet but who knows what theme I’ll be asked to do next!

Wedding cake

This week I am going to start making a wedding cake for some lovely friends of mine who are getting married in October. When I said yes to making their cake I was so happy that they were wanting a traditional fruit cake….working full time this was a dream as I can make the cakes in the summer! The flavour of the fruit cakes will develop so by October they should be even more delicious!

Here is the first wedding cake I made last year. Again it was a fruit cake (their choice, no persuasion from me!) and I used the brush embroidery technique on the design. Now, I seriously love brush embroidery, it feels me with so much joy! I love the simplicity and beauty of the finished designed, it’s such a relaxing technique I’d happily decorate all my cakes like this!

IMG_1393.JPG

I learnt the brush embroidery technique from my amazing cake teacher – Carmel Cake Classes Cardiff – she’s so patient with us I’m always so grateful for her help. I completed a one day course to learn how to do brush embroidery, learning how to pipe correctly to get the edges of the petals, which type of brush I was comfortable with and how to correctly use the skill. This was my cake from the course:

IMG_3526

I think it’s definitely a technique I’ll be using many times in the future, especially if I need a relaxing cake to make!